Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad

The Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad (DDRA) 2020 competition is now closed. The deadline for students to submit their complete applications was 10:00 am, Thursday, February 13, 2020. Letters of support and language evaluations must be submitted BEFORE the student can submit their application. There are no exceptions to the campus deadline and no changes are allowed to the application after this deadline; incomplete applications will not be forwarded to the U.S. Department of Education.

The Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad (DDRA) Program is administered by the U.S. Department of Education. It provides opportunities to doctoral candidates to engage in full-time dissertation research abroad in modern foreign languages and area studies. You must be a citizen, national, or permanent resident of the United States to apply. The Department of Education requires electronic submission of DDRA applications through the www.g5.gov site. Applicants should go to this site for access to the online application and instructions for this grant program. The notice was published in the Federal Register on December 17, 2019.

Prospective applicants should contact Mark Lilleleht in the IRIS Awards Office (328 Ingraham Hall, awards@iris.wisc.edu, 608.265.6070) to discuss their application. Mark is available to advise on all aspects of the competition and proposal. If you are interested in applying please read & review the following material:

Each applicant is responsible for correctly submitting a complete application – which includes application forms, project narrative, bibliography, letters of recommendation, language evaluations, letters of affiliation and transcripts – by the campus deadline. Please refer to the campus instructions for more information.

All approved recipients of this grant are required to go through Human Subjects IRB clearance (as appropriate) before funds are released. The U.S. Department of Education requires clearance of the specific research project as described in the grant proposal.

NOTE: Instructions in the application materials directed to the IHE or Project Director are instructions for the IRIS Awards Office, which submits UW-Madison applications before the closing date.

Please note that the g5.gov site for the application system is NOT available 24/7. Hours of operation (in Eastern Standard Time) for the G5 website are:

  • Sunday: Unavailable from 03:00pm – 11:59pm EST
  • Monday: Unavailable from 12:00am – 05:59am EST
  • Tuesday: Available 24 hours
  • Wednesday: Unavailable from 09:00pm – 11:59pm EST
  • Thursday: Unavailable from 12:00am – 05:59am EST
  • Friday: Available 24 hours
  • Saturday: Available 24 hours

G5 help is available through e-mail or by calling the G5 Hotline (not through the IRIS Awards Office):

  • Hours: 8:00am – 6:00pm EST, Monday–Friday, except on federal holidays
  • Toll-Free: 888.336.8930
  • TTY: 800.877.8339
  • Local: 202.401.6238
  • Email: edcaps.user@ed.gov

One final note: UW-Madison precludes student travel to locations under a US Department of State (DoS) Level 3 or 4 travel advisory.  To read this policy and potentially request a waiver, see information under the “Travel Policies” and “Resources/FAQs” tabs on the website of the University International Travel Committee (UITC). To see if your desired destination is under a DoS Level 3 or 4 travel advisory, go to http://travel.state.gov/content/passports/en/alertswarnings.html. Questions regarding the UW-Madison travel policy should be directed to Ron Machoian, the UW-Madison ISSD, who can be contacted at ronald.machoian@wisc.edu, or at 608.890.2446. Students hoping to travel to a location currently under a DoS Level 3 or 4 travel advisory SHOULD apply for an Fulbright-Hays DDRA award but it is the responsibility of awardees to secure any necessary waivers via the UW-Madison’s international travel policy. Notice that the above information applies to your planned travel if any part of your itinerary takes you through an area that is under a DoS Level 3 or 4 travel advisory.

If you have any questions or concerns please reach out to Ron Machoian or UW-Madison’s Fulbright Program Advisor, Mark Lilleleht.

Please Note:

Complete information about the Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad (DDRA) 2020 competition is available from USED.

The deadline for UW-Madison students to submit their complete DDRA 2020 applications was 10:00 am, Thursday, February 13, 2020. No exceptions, no extensions.

If you are a UW-Madison student planning to apply for a 2020 DDRA please email Mark Lilleleht immediately. Mark serves as campus Fulbright representative and will be submitting all UW applications. He needs to know who will be applying.

If you would like to review project statements of past successful UW-Madison applicants please email Mark to make arrangements.