University of Wisconsin–Madison

IRIS Graduate Student Summer Fieldwork Award


The purpose of these awards is to support graduate students at the UW-Madison planning to conduct a minimum of 6 weeks of summer fieldwork outside of the United States.


Any continuing graduate student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison may apply for these awards.

Award Details:

These are one-time awards of $3,000 to be used in support of 6+ weeks of summer fieldwork conducted outside the United States. Time abroad outside the summer months will be considered though applicants should address these circumstances in their statement and should have his/her advisor address them in their letter of recommendation as well.

IRIS will work with awardees to purchase flights through the Concur system (per University of Wisconsin policy). The balance of the award will be made available to awardees & managed as a travel e-reimbursement.

Application Deadline:

Application deadline for the 2018 awards is Monday, February 26, 2018.

Application Procedure:

  • Complete an online application through Scholarships@UW-Madison. This is a shared application so be sure to indicate that you are applying for the “IRIS Summer Fieldwork Award”. In addition to basic personal & project information you will need to provide the following:
  1. brief statement of language competency (as appropriate);
  2. upload a project statement (750-word maximum), including how the proposed fieldwork fits your overall research plan, prior experience in the country/region, and a proposed itinerary;
  3. graduate transcript/s for courses taken at other institutions (optional).
  • Arrange for two (2) letters of recommendation, one of which must come from the applicant’s advisor. Applicants will provide the name & email address of recommenders who will then receive an invitation to upload letters via Scholarships@UW-Madison. We recommend applicants contact their references before listing them in their applications. Letters of recommendation should be on letterhead and signed.
  • Please note: UW-Madison precludes student travel to locations under a US Department of State (DoS) travel warning. To read this policy and potentially request a waiver, see information under the “Travel Policies” and “Resources/FAQs” tabs on the website of the University International Travel Committee (UITC). To see if your desired destination is under a DoS travel warning, go to Questions regarding UW-Madison travel policy should be directed to Ron Machoian, the UW-Madison ISSD, who can be contacted at, or at 608.890.2446. Students hoping to travel to a location currently under a travel warning are allowed to apply for an IRIS Fieldwork award but it is the responsibility of awardees to secure any necessary waivers.


All awardees are required to submit a brief report at the conclusion of their time abroad. You can read the reports from previous award recipients below:

Please Note:

The application period for the 2018 awards is now closed. Application is through Scholarships@UW-Madison. Deadline to submit an application was Monday, February 26, 2018.

Please address any questions to Mark Lilleleht at or 608.265.6070.